James Anaya at Colorado Law on Indigenous Peoples in the United States

From ICT.

An excerpt:

James Anaya, a United Nations fact-finder, has learned that vibrant Indian cultures are often invisible in the United States mainstream and that problems of Indians today seem trivial to U.S. citizens who tend to believe Natives and Native issues exist only in the distant past.

Another excerpt:

On a personal note that illustrated the here-and-now of Native concerns, Anaya said he’d received a letter from a 15-year-old student attending high school near the Rosebud Sioux (Sicangu Lakota) Reservation in South Dakota.

“Life here is very hand-to-mouth,” the student wrote. “I’m going to be honest with you—sometimes I don’t eat. I’ve never told anyone this before, not even my mom, but I don’t eat sometimes because I feel bad about making my mom buy food that I know is expensive.

“And you know what? Life is hard enough for my mom, so I will probably never tell her.”

Anaya gave the Thomson Visitor Lecture as part of the 2012-2013 Speaker Series of the American Indian Law Program.

Read more at http://indiancountrytodaymedianetwork.com/2013/01/28/anaya-urges-presidential-support-apology-147285

One thought on “James Anaya at Colorado Law on Indigenous Peoples in the United States

  1. GeorGene Nelson January 30, 2013 / 2:38 pm

    This is a problem of the Tribal nations, however, it is the continuing resistance for the truth about Tribal nations not being included in the history of this nation, in an accurate and factual manner. The United State Constitution mentions three governments, but the U.S. citizenry does not get told this in their school systems.

Comments are closed.